Water & Environmental Programs

Photo of officials posing with shovels for a project groundbreaking in the village of Bay View.

Local, state and federal elected representatives join community stakeholders at a groundbreaking ceremony for the Village of Bay View’s new gravity sewer wastewater collection system, funded in part through a nearly $6 million USDA direct loan and grant combination. Situated along Lake Erie’s shallow Western Basin, the village was under EPA “Findings and Orders” to stop raw sewage discharge into Sandusky Bay. Improper discharge from leaky septic systems is believed to contribute to Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs) – one of which crippled the water supply in nearby Toledo this summer, drawing national attention to the issue. (USDA Photo: Heather Hartley)

Water and Environmental Programs (WEP) provides loans, grants and loan guarantees for drinking water, sanitary sewer, solid waste and storm drainage facilities. WEP also makes grants to nonprofit organizations to provide technical assistance and training to assist rural communities with their water, wastewater, and solid waste problems. Visit the following site for a complete overview: Utility Programs

Ohio Highlights

2013 Investments
Water and Waste Loans (7) $16,512,000
Water and Waste Grants (5) $9,360,300
Solid Waste Management Grant (1) $26,662

Content Divider

Application Information

Content Divider

 

Engineering Information

Engineering documents can be found here

EJCDC documents are available. As of January 1, 2010, new projects (i.e. projects in the PER stage) must use the Construction Related Documents, 2007 Edition, and the Agreement between Owner and Engineer for Professional Services, 2008 Edition. Please note that these are Standard Edition documents, and Agency Edition documents are no longer being sold. Information on EJCDC documents, including where they can be purchased, is available at this link: http://www.ejcdc.org

Content Divider

Program Contacts:

Dave Douglas, Program Director
200 North High Street, Room 507
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 255-2391
David.Douglas@oh.usda.gov

Scott Shaneyfelt, Specialist
200 North High Street, Room 507
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 255-2414
Scott.Shaneyfelt@oh.usda.gov

Charles Dietz, Specialist
200 North High Street, Room 507
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 255-2431
Charles.Dietz@oh.usda.gov

Matthew McCoppin, Civil Engineer / Architect
200 North High Street, Room 507
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 255-2421
Matthew.McCoppin@oh.usda.gov

Eric Zwierschke, Civil Engineer
200 North High Street, Room 507
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: (614) 255-2430
Eric.Zwierschke@oh.usda.gov

John Miller, Area Director
2650 Richville Drive, Southeast, Suite 102
Massillon, Ohio 44646
(330) 830-7700 x 132
John.Miller@oh.usda.gov

Chris Spellmire, Area Director
7868 CR 140, Suite D
Findlay, Ohio 45840
(419) 422-0242
Chris.Spellmire@oh.usda.gov

Christine Crowell, Area Specialist
21330 State Route 676, Suite A
Marietta, Ohio 45750
(740) 373-7113
Christine.Crowell@oh.usda.gov

Ashley Kelly, Area Specialist
514 Harry Sauner Road
Hillsboro, Ohio 45133
(937) 393-1921
Ashley.Kelly@oh.usda.gov

Andrew Sterling, Area Specialist
7868 CR 140, Suite D
Findlay, Ohio 45840
(419) 422-0242 x109
Andrew.Sterling@oh.usda.gov

Telecommunications Programs Contact:

Ronald Mellon, General Field Representative
P.O. Box 130
Shepherd, Michigan 48883
(989) 567-2400
Ronald.Mellon@usda.gov