Community Programs in Oregon

USDA Rural Development's Community Programs staff administers a variety of Federal loan guarantee, direct loan, and grant programs designed to provide needed infrastructure (water & waste - WEP) and community facilities (CF) for Oregon's rural communities.

Program List

Community Facility Loan Guarantees, Direct Loans and Grants:  To develop essential community facilities for public use in rural areas. These facilities include schools, libraries, childcare, hospitals, medical clinics, assisted living facilities, fire and rescue stations, police stations, community centers, public buildings and transportation.

Emergency Community Water Assistance Grants (ECWAG): To assist rural communities that have experienced a significant decline in quantity or quality of drinking water due to an emergency, or in which such decline is considered imminent, to obtain or maintain adequate quantities of water.

Predevelopment Planning Grants: To assist in paying costs associated with developing a complete application for a proposed project

Rural Community Development Initiative (RCDI) Grants:  Technical assistance and training funds to qualified intermediary organizations to develop their capacity to undertake housing, community facilities, and community and economic development projects in rural areas.

Water and Environmental Program Loan Guarantees, Direct Loans and Grants:  For drinking water, sanitary sewer, solid waste, storm drainage facilities and water well systems in rural areas and cities and towns of 10,000 or less. Public bodies, non-profit organizations and recognized Indian tribes may qualify for assistance. The programs also makes grants to nonprofit organizations to provide technical assistance and training to assist rural communities with their water, wastewater, and solid waste problems.

Solid Waste Management Grants:  For evaluation activities, technical assistance, or operator training to protect water quality and improve planning and management of solid waste facilities.

Telecommunications Programs:  Program support for rural broadband, distance learning, telemedicine, and telecommunications infrastructure is offered through the USDA Rural Development National Office.

Electric Programs: Loans and loan guarantees to finance to acquire, construct, extend, upgrade, and otherwise improve energy generation, transmission, or distribution facilities are offered through the USDA Rural Development National Office.

Oregon Contacts for Community Programs

State Office

Main Phone: (503) 414-3360
TDD:  (503) 414-3387
Fax:  (503) 414-3397

USDA Rural Development
Attn: Community Programs
1201 NE Lloyd Blvd., Ste. 801
Portland, OR 97232-1274

Community Programs

Sam Goldstein, Oregon Community Programs Director
(503) 414-3362
sam.goldstein@or.usda.gov

Rachel Reister, Community Programs Specialist
(503) 414-3330
rachel.reister@or.usda.gov

Marina World, Community Programs Technician
(503) 414-3360
marina.world@or.usda.gov

Ella Nichols, Community Programs Technician
(503) 414-3354
ella.nichols@or.usda.gov

Drew Davis, Area Specialist
(503) 414-3336
drew.davis@or.usda.gov

Technical Contacts

Char Rollier, Civil Engineer, State Environmental Coordinator
(503) 414-3356
char.rollier@or.usda.gov

Norm Schoen, State Architect, State Civil Rights Coordinator
(503) 414-3364
norm.schoen@or.usda.gov

Claudia Vail-Goss, Construction Analyst
(503) 414-3357
claudia.vail-goss@or.usda.gov

Tangent Office
Holly Fellows, Technician
(541) 967-5925 ext. 129

Pendleton Office
LaDonn McElligott, Specialist
(541) 963-4178 ext. 103
ladonn.mcelligott@or.usda.gov

Redmond Office
Pam Swires, Specialist
(541) 923-4358 ext. 137
pam.swires@or.usda.gov

Roseburg Office

Deanna Quimby, Specialist
(541) 673-0136 ext. 120
deanna.quimby@or.usda.gov  

Jennifer Bacigalupo, Specialist
(541) 673-0136 ext. 102
jennifer.bacigalupo@or.usda.gov

 

Helpful Links and Fact Sheets

Sign Up for Program Alerts

Click here to sign up for Oregon " and other e-mail alerts from USDA Rural Development. 

 

 

< Top of Page

<Go Back to Rural Development Oregon Home