USDA Single Family Housing Programs (SFH) in Oregon

USDA Rural Development's Single Family Housing Programs provide homeownership opportunities to very low-, low- and moderate-income rural residents through several loan, grant and loan guarantee programs. The programs also provide funding for critical repairs to rural homes.


Announcements

Changes to Housing Eligible Areas:

Changes to housing eligible areas based on 2010 Census data that were scheduled to take effect on October 1, 2014, due to “rural in character” criteria have been postponed until October 1, 2015, by request of the Secretary. Complete applications received before October 1, 2015, will continue to use rural area definitions based on 2010 Census data.

 

Centralized submission and processing for SFH Guaranteed and Direct home loan applications in Oregon:

USDA Rural Development in Oregon has centralized our Direct and Guaranteed Section 502 SFH programs in order to maximize efficiencies, improve service, and reduce processing times. All applications from around the state are now submitted through a centralized process, rather than through local offices. For application information and contacts, please refer to the appropriate program web page: Section 502 Guaranteed Home Loan OR the Section 502 Direct Home Loan.

Program List

Guaranteed Rural Housing Loans:

Section 502 Guaranteed Single Family Housing Loans are originated by approved mortgage lenders to offer qualified moderate income households with affordable home loan financing with a loan guarantee from USDA Rural Development.

Direct Rural Housing Loans:

The Section 502 Direct program provides loans to low- and very low-income households to purchase or repair their existing home.

Mutual Self Help Housing Program:

USDA Rural Development provides grants to qualified nonprofit organizations and public bodies that will aid very low- and low-income individuals and their families to build homes in rural areas by the self-help method. Groups of families work together to build new homes with the coordination of the sponsoring entity and under the supervision of a professional contractor. The families perform roughly 65 percent of the construction work to offset costs. Upon completion of construction, many of the homeowners qualify for a USDA Rural Development home loan for the remaining balance. Contact the Area Office serving your county (see contact list below) for more information.

Home Improvement/Repair Loans & Grants:

Section 504 loans and grants enable very low-income rural homeowners to remove health and safety hazards from their homes, to improve or modernize them, and to make them accessible for people with disabilities.

 

Oregon Contacts

 

Guaranteed Loans
866-923-5626 extension 1
guarantee.questions@or.usda.gov

Direct Loans
866-923-5626 extension 2
direct.questions@or.usda.gov
 

Oregon State Office
 
Main Phone Number: (503) 414-3335
TDD:  (503) 414-3387
Fax:  (855) 824-6182

USDA Rural Development
Attn: Single Family Housing
1201 NE Lloyd Blvd., Ste. 801
Portland, OR 97232-1274

Rod Hansen, Oregon Housing Programs Director
(503) 414-3353
rod.hansen@or.usda.gov

Kate Bateman, SFH Specialist, 502 Guaranteed Loans
(503) 414-3393
kate.bateman@or.usda.gov

Faith Harris, SFH Specialist
(503) 414-3337
faith.harris@or.usda.gov

Susan Nova, SFH Technician
(503) 414-3335
susan.nova@or.usda.gov 

Technical Contacts

Claudia Vail-Goss, Construction Analyst
(503) 414-3357
claudia.vail-goss@or.usda.gov

Jeffrey Rapp, Appraiser
(503) 414-3363
jeffrey.rapp@or.usda.gov

Norm Schoen, State Architect/State Civil Rights Coordinator
(503) 414-3364
norm.schoen@or.usda.gov

Tangent Area Office

Corey Johnson, Area Specialist
(541) 967-5925 ext. 133
corey.johnson@or.usda.gov

Sheila Raber, Area Specialist
(541) 967-5925 ext. 132
sheila.raber@or.usda.gov

Susan Sauer, Area Technician
(541) 967-5925 Ext. 126
susan.sauer@or.usda.gov

Tisha Scofield, Area Technician
(541) 967-5925 Ext. 102
tisha.scofield@or.usda.gov

Pendleton Area Office

Patty Good, Area Specialist
(541) 963-4178 ext. 102
patty.good@or.usda.gov

Renee Robinson, Area Technician
(541) 278-8049 ext. 127
renee.robinson@or.usda.gov 

Redmond Area Office

Martha Chamberlain, Area Technician
(541) 923-4358 ext. 126
martha.chamberlain@or.usda.gov

Roseburg Area Office

Jennifer Bacigalupo, Area Specialist
(541) 673-0136 ext. 102
jennifer.bacigalupo@or.usda.gov 

Mandie Ellenwood, Area Technician
(541) 673-0136 ext. 100
mandie.ellenwood@or.usda.gov 

 

Helpful Links and Fact Sheets

 

Sign Up for Program Alerts

Click here to sign up for Oregon "Single Family Housing Program Notices" and other e-mail alerts from USDA Rural Development. 

 

 

<Go Back to Rural Development Oregon Home