News Release
Release No.STELPRD4014742
ContactTammi Schone(605) 352-1102
Rapid City, SD, Jan 25, 2012 --

@@Elsie M. Meeks, State Director for USDA Rural Development in South Dakota announced that on Wednesday, February 1, 2012, the Rapid City

USDA Service Center will open its doors at a new location in Rapid City at 414 East Stumer Road, Suite 200. An Open House will be held in the future when the public will be invited to see the new office space. Additional information will be provided at a later time.

“The new office will allow USDA agencies to better serve our customers in the region,” said Meeks. “We feel this location will be more convenient for our customers and offer a better work environment for employees.”

Co-located in the Rapid City Service Center are USDA Rural Development, USDA

Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) and Pennington County Conservation District. Office hours for the Service Center are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

To contact a USDA agency in Rapid City, call:

USDA Rural Development at (605) 342-0301, extension 4

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service at (605) 342-0301, extension 3

USDA Farm Service Agency at (605) 342-0301, extension 2

Pennington County Conservation District at (605) 342-03010 extension 3

USDA NRCS Field Support at (605)342-0301 extension 5

USDA Rural Development serves as the lead federal agency for rural development needs by offering financial and technical assistance to individuals, businesses, and communities. USDA Rural Development programs include funding for day care centers, fire trucks and other community facility projects; the purchase, construction or repair of homes; loans and guarantees to rural businesses to save or create jobs and renewable energy; and loans and grants for water and sewer utility projects.

USDA Rural Development has eight offices in the state serving South Dakotans living in rural areas and communities. Office locations include a state office in Huron, along with area offices in Aberdeen, Mitchell, Pierre, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Watertown, and Yankton.

Further information on this and other programs offered by USDA Rural Development is available by calling (605) 352-1100, by visiting or at any local area office.