USDA Logo Rural Development Logo USDA Rural Development Main Masthead
SpacerHomeDividerAbout RDDividerNewsroomDividerAgencies & OfficesDividerPrograms & OpportunitiesDividerHelpDividerContact UsDividerEn Español
Search RD
Browse by Audience
Browse by Subject
Community Development
Technical Assistance
Forms and Publications
Regulations and Guidance
Online Services
Left Navigation Menu Bottom
News Release
Release No. STELPRD4021912
ContactDawn Bonsell717-237-2286
Printable Version  Printable Version

HARRISBURG, Pa., Aug 29, 2013 -- Contact:

Dawn Bonsell: (717) 237-2286

USDA Announces Modifications in Eligible Rural Areas
for Single Family Housing Program

  Harrisburg, Pa. - August 29, 2013 – In accordance with USDA Rural Development Administrative Notice 4711, the implementation of the 2010 Census Data is on schedule for October 1, 2013, which will modify the eligible rural areas for both the USDA RD Direct and Guaranteed Housing Programs.  The future eligibility area maps can be viewed on the USDA Eligibility web site.

On March 26, 2013, the President signed “H.R.933 -- Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2013” which provided funding through September 30, 2013. The Bill also extended the eligible rural areas that were in effect as of September 30, 2012 until September 30, 2013 for Rural Housing Service (RHS) housing programs. A complete loan application received by Rural Development on or before September 30, 2013, will not be subject to the new rural area designations provided that the application is obligated before December 31, 2013.

Listed below are some of the major areas affected by the change - please refer to the “Future Eligible Areas” on the eligibility web site to view all changes.

Butler County – Seven Fields

Columbia County – Berwick Borough and Bloomsburg

Cumberland County – Carlisle and Mechanicsburg

Fayette – Belle Vernon

Franklin County – Chambersburg and Waynesboro

Lackawanna County – Scranton, Carbondale and Vandling

Luzerne County – Wilkes Barre and Hazelton

Northampton County - Easton and Bethlehem

Westmoreland County – Jeanette, Greensburg and Monessen

York County – Dallastown, Dover and Red Lion areas.

If you have any questions, please contact the Rural Development Housing Program Staff at 717-237-2186.

President Obama’s plan for rural America has brought about historic investment and resulted in stronger rural communities. Under the President’s leadership, these investments in housing, community facilities, businesses and infrastructure have empowered rural America to continue leading the way – strengthening America’s economy, small towns and rural communities.

USDA’s investments in rural communities support the rural way of life that stands as the backbone of our American values. President Obama and Agriculture Secretary Vilsack are committed to a smarter use of federal resources to foster sustainable economic prosperity and ensure the government is a strong partner for businesses, entrepreneurs and working families in rural communities.

USDA, through its Rural Development mission area, has a portfolio nearing $189 billion with programs designed to improve the economic stability of rural communities, businesses, residents, farmers and ranchers and improve the quality of life in rural America. USDA has made a concerted effort to deliver results for the American people, even as the Department implements sequestration – the across-the-board budget reductions mandated under terms of the Budget Control Act.

USDA has already undertaken historic efforts since 2009 to save more than $828 million in taxpayer funds through targeted, common-sense budget reductions. These reductions have put USDA in a better position to carry out its mission, while implementing sequester budget reductions in a fair manner that causes as little disruption as possible.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

Last Modified:11/20/2014 
Footer Corner
RD Home | | Site Map | Policies and Links
FOIA | Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy | Non-Discrimination Statement | Information Quality | FirstGov | White House