News Release
Release No.STELPRD4021989
ContactKathy Beisner(302) 943-3818
Dover, Del., Sep 10, 2013 --

@@Barring Congressional action, implementation of the 2010 Census Data is scheduled to take effect October 1, 2013. This data will modify some of the eligible areas for USDA Rural Development Housing programs.

To view the new maps go to and select “Future Eligible Areas” on the left menu.

NOTE: Complete applications received before October 1, 2013, will continue to use rural area definitions based on 2000 Census data.

Listed below are some of the major areas in Delaware and Maryland affected by the change - please refer to the “Future Eligible Areas” on the eligibility web site to view all changes.


New Castle County – Middletown

Kent County – Smyrna


Allegany County – The Narrows/Locust Grove area/East Side/West Side of Cumberland to the PA line & LaVale

Baltimore County – Expansion around the Reisterstown area

Calvert County – Drum Point & Chesapeake Ranch Estates

Carroll County – Finksburg, Gamber, Eldersburg & Sykesville

Cecil County - Elkton

Charles County – Bennsville, Bryans Road, Pomonkey & Pomfret

Frederick County – Expansion of the areas to the north, east & west around Frederick City

Howard County – Glenelg

Montgomery County – Brighton/Sunshine areas to the Howard Co. line, Claggettsville, Lewisdale & Hyattstown

Prince George’s County – Accokeek

St. Mary’s County – Expansion of the areas around California & Lexington Park (towards Great Mills) & Hermanville (to the Bay)

Washington County – Expansion of the areas to the west & south around Hagerstown

Wicomico County – Expansion of the areas around Salisbury

Worcester County – Ocean Pines & Taylorville

For details, or questions about specific changes in Delaware and Maryland, please contact the Rural Development Housing Program Staff: For Delaware at (302) 857-3595 and Maryland (301) 797-0500, ext. 5.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).