USDA Logo Rural Development Logo USDA Rural Development Main Masthead
SpacerHomeDividerAbout RDDividerNewsroomDividerAgencies & OfficesDividerPrograms & OpportunitiesDividerHelpDividerContact UsDividerEn Español
Search RD
Browse by Audience
Browse by Subject
Community Development
Technical Assistance
Forms and Publications
Regulations and Guidance
Online Services
Left Navigation Menu Bottom
News Release
Release No. STELPRD4022656
ContactDarrell Mowery(317) 295-5770
Printable Version  Printable Version

Indianapolis, IN, Aug 26, 2013 -- USDA Rural Development is adjusting the areas in Indiana that are eligible for its Single and Multi-Family Housing Assistance.  

Because of the growth and expansion of some of Indiana’s larger cities, a realignment of USDA Rural Development’s eligible areas was necessary.

As cities and population areas surpass a 20,000 population threshold, USDA Rural Development procedures are such that the agency is no longer able to provide financial assistance in these areas.  Due to the population increases in these cities and population areas there are three new areas in Indiana where USDA will no longer be able to provide financial assistance:  Greencastle, Martinsville, and Lebanon.

Additionally, many cities in Indiana have experienced considerable growth within the last ten years.  In Indiana, there are 26 counties where all or a portion of the counties have ineligible areas for USDA – Rural Development assistance.  Of these counties, 16 areas are being expanded.  These expanded ineligible areas include portions of Bartholomew, Boone, Clark, Delaware, Elkhart, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Lake, Madison, Monroe, Shelby, Tippecanoe, Vigo, and Wayne counties

Maps are available detailing the combined new and existing USDA Rural Development ineligible areas.  These maps can be viewed by going to the following web site and clicking on “Future Eligible Areas:”

Complete applications for a SFH or MFH direct loan or a loan note guarantee in these newly ineligible areas that have been submitted on or before the close of business on September 30, 2013, will be reviewed and acted on.  Any incomplete applications that are received will be returned and will not be given any further consideration. 

These rules regarding the new and revised USDA ineligible areas go into effect Tuesday, October 1, 2013. 

President Obama’s plan for rural America has brought about historic investment and resulted in stronger rural communities. Under the President’s leadership, these investments in housing, community facilities, businesses and infrastructure have empowered rural America to continue leading the way – strengthening America’s economy, small towns and rural communities. USDA’s investments in rural communities support the rural way of life that stands as the backbone of our American values. President Obama and Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack are committed to a smarter use of Federal resources to foster sustainable economic prosperity and ensure the government is a strong partner for businesses, entrepreneurs and working families in rural communities.

USDA, through its Rural Development mission area, has an active portfolio of more than $172 billion in loans and loan guarantees. These programs are designed to improve the economic stability of rural communities, businesses, residents, farmers and ranchers and improve the quality of life in rural America.

USDA has made a concerted effort to deliver results for the American people, even as USDA implements sequestration – the across-the-board budget reductions mandated under terms of the Budget Control Act. USDA has already undertaken historic efforts since 2009 to save more than $700 million in taxpayer funds through targeted, common-sense budget reductions. These reductions have put USDA in a better position to carry out its mission, while implementing sequester budget reductions in a fair manner that causes as little disruption as possible.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).

Last Modified:11/20/2014 
Footer Corner
RD Home | | Site Map | Policies and Links
FOIA | Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy | Non-Discrimination Statement | Information Quality | FirstGov | White House